Amber MacPherson

40| female| Black Hawk, CO, USA
Plans created: 0 Plans joined: 8 Friends: 25 Likes received: 21

I'm a Gociety
Pathfinder

Amber's info

Runner, backpacker, skier, whitewater sports enthusiast (previous raft guide, novice whitewater kayaker), horseback rider, wannabe climber and mountain biker, human.

Amber's preferred sports:

Mountain Biking
I just want to learn mountain biking. One day. When I can afford a proper bike.
Road Cycling
I would love to take an extended bike trip across Europe or even the U.S.
Running
Mostly fitness, but I love obstacle races. The Spartan series is my favorite. I've completed one half marathon, but the rest have been 5ks. Would love to do an Iron Man and some Adventure Races when I can afford the proper equipment and training. I'm currently running trails in the mountains on the weekends. I'm not fast yet, but I aim to be!
Trail / BEGINNER
Road / INTERMEDIATE
Ultra / LEARNING
Skiing
Any day I get to be there. I teach at Eldora on winter weekends. I want to back country ski once I am good enough and get the avy training and gear.
Groomers / ADVANCED
Steep & Deep / INTERMEDIATE
Bumps & Trees / BEGINNER
Sidecountry / LEARNING
Backcountry / LEARNING
Snowboarding
Any day I get to board. I just want to get better. Also, I need to get a damn board.
Groomers / BEGINNER
Steep & Deep / LEARNING
Bumps & Trees / LEARNING
Sidecountry / LEARNING
Backcountry / LEARNING
Water Sports
I'm a rafter and beginning kayaker and I like to travel and eat soup. SUP sounds fun, but I've not tried it yet. <br /><br /> I guided on the New River in Fayetteville, WV for one summer (Rivermen, back when they were a thing) and did some beginner kayaking in Kentucky. In Colorado, I've only done the Eagle (from Edwards to Eagle) and a bit of the Poudre with a friend and her oar boat.
Rafting / ADVANCED
Kayaking / BEGINNER
Climbing
I just want to learn.
Hiking and Camping
I prefer backpacking to day hikes, but enjoy both. I just like to get out into nature and seek out rare and beautiful views. I'm a NOLS grad (Alaska Backpacking, 2002). I've only ever done one winter trip (Allegheny mountains in Pennsylvania, 2001 or 2002 or something, I forget). Now that I live in the Rockies, I intend to get some snowshoes,.
Day Tripping / ADVANCED
Car Camping / ADVANCED
Backpacking / ADVANCED
Snowshoeing / LEARNING
Winter Camping / INTERMEDIATE
Fun in the Sun
Roller skating outside. Anyone in? Also, horseback riding. I would love to get into adventure racing.
Adventure Racing / LEARNING
Other / ADVANCED
Ski / Snowboard
Any day I get to be there.
Fitness
I love to pick up heavy objects and put them down again. I'm awful at yoga, but it makes me feel good (and my balance and flexibility need all the help they can get), and find HIIT workouts to be simultaneously awful and amazing. I did basic Tae Kwon Do and Judo in college. It was fun, but I would not call myself experienced. I played roller derby for 7 years, but now am glad to be getting outside instead.
Strength & Conditioning / ADVANCED
Yoga / BEGINNER
Martial Arts / BEGINNER